Mon, Jan
31 New Articles

UCC Audit Committee Inaugurated

Campus News
  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

The University of Cape Coast Council Chairperson, Mrs. Nancy Thompson has inaugurated the University of Cape Coast Audit Committee to serve a two year term of office, which is also subject to renewal after the stipulated period.

The Audit Committee comes as a replacement for the University’s Audit Report Implementation Committee (ARIC), which was charged with the responsibility of ensuring that the institution carried out the recommendations made by its External Auditors. However following the promulgation of the Public Financial Management Act, 2016 (Act 921), ARIC has been replaced with the Audit Committee.

The committee is comprised of five members namely, Prof. Omane Antwi, Internal Audit Agency Representaive and Chairman of the Audit Committee, Mr. Samuel Petterson Larbi, Internal Audit Agency Representative, Mr. Kofi Abaidoo, Institute of Chartered Accountants (Ghana) Representative, Dr. Thomas Agyarko-Poku, Council Representative and Dr. Edem K. Amenumey, Council Representative.

READ ALSO: Reserve Top Positions for leading Researchers – Dr. Amegah Urges University Management

Giving her Speech at the inauguration ceremony, the Council Chairman, Mrs. Nancy Thompson congratulated the committee members and said the council is very confident about their Caliber and believes the University and the country as a whole will benefit immensely from their rich knowledge, expertise and experience.

She however emphasized on the need for confidentiality in the task assigned to them.

The Acting Director-General of the Internal Audit Agency, Mr. Ransford Adjei reiterated the need for confidentiality and pleaded with the committee to handle prudently all information that comes before them. He however added that the formation of the committee is for the purpose of championing transparency and accountability within the University.

READ ALSO: Vice-Chancellor Hosts Colombian Delegation

Giving his acceptance remarks, the Chairman of the Audit Committee, Prof. Omane Antwi explained they will provide useful insight, guidance and support to the Vice Chancellor and the Chairman of the Council. He however called on the Internal Auditors to feed the committee with information in order to help facilitate their work.

Among the people who graced the occasion were Vice Chancellor: Prof. Joseph Ghartey Ampiah, Pro-Vice Chancellor: Prof. George Kweku Toku Oduro, Registrar: Mr. John Kofi Nyan, Director of Finance: Mrs. Elizabeth Obese, Director, Internal Audit: Emmanuel Owusu and Assistant Registrar (nominated by Registrar) - Secretary: Mr. Emmanuel Afreh Owusu.


Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.